DOT Logo

The Division of Maritime Security ensures that the International Ships and Ports Security (ISPS) Code and related Maritime Security Resolutions agreed by the International

Maritime Organization (IMO)  - the maritime agency of the United Nations is applied, implemented and enforced in Papua New Guinea.

The Maritime Security unit of the Department of Transport was established in 2003 in anticipation of the rollout of the ISPS Code.

The International Ships and Port facility Security Code commonly refer to as the ISPS Code is a standardized global security measure adopted by countries who are signatories to the International Convention for the Safety of Life at Sea (SOLAS 74)  and its related amendments.

Papua New Guinea as a signatory to the SOLAS convention and its related amendments is required to implement conventions and regulation agreed, and adopted by International Maritime Organization (IMO), the maritime agency of the United Nations.

Maritime Security Division is the implementing arm of the Department, who is the duly recognized Designated Authority (DA) in the fulfilment of the requirements of the Code in this country.

Central to the Division’s function is the ISPS Code which is enforced in Papua New Guinea via the Merchant Shipping (Maritime Security) regulation 2005.

The Division’s core operations include:

  1. Issuance of Statement of Compliance for port facilities

    To issue a Statement of Compliance for Port Facilities, the port operator first requests for an ISPS certification from the Maritime Security Division (MSD) of the PNG Department of Transport who is the Designated Authority (DA).

    The MSD officers carry out port site inspection and assist port operators in the port facility security risk assessment.

    The DA guide the port operator to draw up its Port Facility Security Risk Plan (PFSP) and once the DA has approved the PFSP, a Statement of Compliance is issued to the port operator.

  2. Issuance of International Ship Security Certificate

    The Papua New Guinea registered ship company requests the Designated Authority (DA) for issuance of an International Ship Security Certificate (ISSC).

    The Designated Authority/Registered Security Organization (DA/RSO) carry out on site inspection and full verification of the ship and a Ship Security Risk Assessment is sent to the DA for check and approval.

    Once approved, the DA issue the International Ship Security Certificate.

The processes of issuing those certifications are vigorous and thorough and include onsite visit and inspection, and careful scrutinizing of Security Risk Assessments and Plans i.e. Port Facility Security Plan (PFSP) and Ship Security Plan (SSP).


Thank you for your feedback!