DOT Logo

Mr Roy Mumu, OBE, Secretary for PNG Department of Transport

In July 2013, the current Government approved the National Transport Strategy (NTS) which comprises the 2014-2030 Policy and related Investment Plan (2014-2018) as our road map for the Transport Sector in PNG. The NTS specifies the sub sector modal policies, plans and priority projects that have been identified by the sector agencies for delivery.

Department of Transport will continue to be the lead agency in the Coordination & Monitoring of the NTS and in developing transport sector policies, identifying and setting strategies, Planning & Budgeting and Monitoring & Coordination of those Policies and Plans for the three modes of transportation: air, land and sea in PNG.

The 2014 elevation of the former Ministry of Transport, under the Prime Minister's Ministerial Determinations, to the new Ministry of Transport & Infrastructure in the coordination of key transport infrastructures approved by the Government has challenged the Department's preparedness to take on the added responsibility.

However, this does not change our aspirations to focus on the Department of Transport's vision by striving to improve on our consultation and collaboration with our many stakeholders and partnering with the industry and communities to facilitate the delivery of a well-integrated, safe and sustainable transport system in PNG.

The outline of the Department of Transport's web site is being developed to include and provide information on the Department's Vision, Mission and key attributes which will be reviewed and updated frequently by our management team. As such, comments and suggestions are expected from viewers as we in the Department of Transport endeavour to provide the required information to assist and enhance our sub national government's planners and decision makers in delivering and improving an integrated transport system in PNG.

Please consult our various divisions for any advice with respect to any policy or regulatory issues associated with the three modes of transportation and further assistance can be provided from our Department's offices throughout PNG.

Mr. Roy Mumu OBE
Department of Transport
Papua New Guinea